29th International Liquid Crystal Conference (ILCC 2024)

The Organizing Committee of the 29th International Liquid Crystal Conference (ILCC2024) invites the worldwide community of liquid crystals to attend the ILCC2024, which will be held for the first time in South America, at the city of Rio de Janeiro – Brazil. This traditional forum will be dedicated to recent advances and perspectives in the field of liquid crystals.


21st – 26th July 2024


Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Local Organizing Committee


Hugo Gallardo

Chemistry Department - UFSC


Ivan H. Bechtold

Physics Department - UFSC

International Advisory Board

Agnes Buka (Hungarian Academy of Science - Hungary)
Alberta Ferrarini (University of Padua - Italy)
Alexandros Vanakaras (University of Patras - Greece)
Alexei Khokhlov (Lomonosov Moscow State University - Russia)
Andy Fuh (National Cheng Kung University - Taiwan)
Antal Jakli (Kent State University - USA)
Antonio Figueiredo Neto (University of São Paulo - Brazil)
Atsushi Yoshizawa (Hirosaki University - Japan)
Blanca Ros (Universidade de Zaragoza - Spain)
Casten Tschierske (Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg - Germany)
Claudio Zannoni (University of Bologna - Italy)
Cliff Jones (University of Leeds - England)
Dirk J. Broer (Eindhoven University of Technology - Netherlands)
Eduardo Soto (University of Chile - Chile)
Emmanuelle Lacaze (CNRS – Institut des Nano-Sciences de Paris - France)
Epifanio Virga (Pavia University - Italy)
Ewa Górecka (University of Warsaw - Poland)
Gabriella Cipparrone (University of Calabria - Italy)
Georg Mehl (University of Hull - England)
Giusy Scalia (University of Luxembourg - Luxembourg)
Harald Bock (CRPP, University of Bordeaux - France)
Harald Pleiner (Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research, Mainz - Germany)
Heinz-Siegfried Kitzerow (Paderborn University - Germany)
Helen Gleeson (University of Leeds - England)
Hiroshi Yokoyama (Kent State University - USA)
Ingo Dierking (University of Manchester - England)
Irena Drevensek-Olenik (University of Ljubljana - Slovenia)
Jagdish Vij (Trinity College Dublin - Ireland)
Jan Lagerwall (University of Luxembourg - Luxembourg)
Janusz Parka (Institute of Applied Physics MUT - Poland)
Javier Diez (Universidad Nacional del Centro de la Provincia de Buenos Aires - Argentina)
John Ball (Heriot-Watt University - Scotland)
Jon Fossum (Norwegian University of Science and Technology - Norway)
José Luis Serrano (University of Zaragoza - Spain)
Liang-Chy Chien (Kent State University - USA)
Luis Evangelista (State University of Maringá - Brazil)
Luz J. Martínez-Miranda (University of Maryland, College Park - USA)
Marcelo Leite Lyra (Universidade Federal de Alagoas - Brazil)
Maria Helena Godinho (Universidade Nova de Lisboa - Portugal)
Matthias Lehmann (University of Wurzburg - Germany)
Nathalie Katsonis (Stratingh Institute of Chemistry of the University of Groningen - Netherlands)
Oleg Lavrentovich (Kent State University - USA)
Oleg V. Yaroshchuk (Institute of Physics, National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine - Ukraine)
Patrick Davidson (Paris-Sud University - France)
Pawel Pieranski (Paris-Sud University - France)
Peter J. Collings (Swarthmore College - USA)
Peter Palffy-Muhoray (Kent State University - USA)
Robert P. Lemieux (University of Waterloo - Canada)
Robin Selinger (Kent State University - USA)
Rudolf Zentel (Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz - Germany)
Sandeep Kumar (Raman Research Institute - India)
Satyendra Kumar (University at Albany, SUNY - USA)
Shin-Tson Wu (University of Central Florida - USA)
Slobodan Žumer (University of Ljubljana and Jožef Stefan Institute - Slovenia)
Sofia Torgova P. N. Lebedev (Physical Institute of the Russian Academy of Sciences -Russia)
Takashi Kato (University of Tokyo - Japan)
Timothy Bunning (US Air Force - USA
Tom Lubensky (University of Pennsylvania - USA)
Tomiki Ikeda (Chuo University - Japan)
Valery P. Shibaev (Moscow State University - Russia)
Vladimir G. Chigrinov (Foshan University, China)
Vladimíra Novotná (Institute of Physics of the Czech Acad. of Sciences - Czech Republic)
Wei Lee (National Chiao Tung University - Taiwan)
Yuka Tabe (Waseda University - Japan)

General Topics

Design, synthesis of organic and hybrid organic materials

Polymers, elastomers and gels: design and characterization

Nanostructured systems, supramolecules and hydrogen-bonded systems

Organic and hybrid organic-inorganic electronics

Symmetry, chirality, polarity, bent-core molecules

Chiral mesophases and spin selectivity

Self-assembly in nature, colloids and chromonics

Photosensitive liquid crystals

Functional materials for devices

Phases, structure and ordering

Frustrated phases and complex systems

Theory, simulation and modeling

Dynamics and pattern formation

Ferroelectricity in liquid crystals

Surfaces, confined systems, and alignment control

Displays, devices, optics and photonics

Actuators and haptic devices

Smart textiles, energy and environmental sustainability

Venue ILCC 2024

Windsor Convention & Expo Center

The Windsor Convention & Expo Center is located at the beach of Barra da Tijuca, in the south part of the Rio de Janeiro city, with a complete infrastructure of hotels, restaurants and shopping area at walking distances and just in front to the sea. More details can be found at: https://windsorexpocenter.com.br/en/.

Rio de Janeiro is easily accessible from different parts of the world, to the International Airport Galeão (GIG), and Rio is a major air traffic hub, so many connections to other parts of Brazil are available. From GIG, the expo center is about 45min with Transfer/Taxi/Uber, for around US$ 20.00.

Weather is pleasant year-round and very popular sandy beaches are available at Rio’s coastline. Rio is also well-known for several natural, architectonical and cultural attractions. For touristic information about Rio de Janeiro: https://rcvb.com.br/.

Sponsors & Exhibitors



Email: ilcc2024rio@gmail.com